Gibson Brands Forums

Playing a 12string as a 6.

ladyscaglyc

In the early days, I had played the firebird as a 6string and with those vintage mini humbuckers, it really became my go to guitar.

A few years back she's been strung for 12 strings but for the sake of 3 to 4 songs, never really got much strap-in time, so I went back to the 6.

Now for those who may not be familiar with them, the neck is an ES 12 string (1965-6) and

is one of the thinnest & narrowest necks ever made.

Simply removing the "octave" strings leaves a very comfortable & easy to play fingerboard.

So that's my latest "mod" for an old Gibby yet keeping it stock! [thumbup]post-690-099468700 1290788446_thumb.jpg

Hey Vin keep that baby singing with 6 or 12!

When I got my 12 the original tuners were gone and someone had put in 6 Grovers. Since I was a poor student and the Firebird was my only good guitar (traded in a Gretsch to get it, only a couple of hacksawed Harmony plywood guitars left as backup)I never did get to string it up and play it as a 12. It was such a sweet guitar and I remember the neck feeling just great as a 6 string. The mini-humbuckers would just sing through the old fender amp I used.

And all this time I thought you had that bird to 12 at one time or another.

Just imagine that same resonance the bird has with the added overtones & harmonics.

Have you added any more to the "flock?" Myself,I've still got extreme gas for another "bird", although this one has just recently left the White Falcon on the stand for 3 of the 4 sets!

Thanks guys for the comments & good to hear from you Oringo.

post-690-001075800 1290880927_thumb.jpg

Hey Vin,