Gibson Brands Forums

Replacment volume pot for SG

Dougefresh91

Hi, everyone.

I just bought an Epiphone SG off ebay and the volume knob doesn't work. I really don't feel like shipping this back to Cali from Miami to return it so I'm hoping someone could tell me where to buy the correct replacement pot as well as instructions on how to fix this (or the wiring diagram I guess)? Im new to playing guitar but I can solder so I want to fix this myself. Any help is appreciated.

Also, when I tried searching the forum for this it kept telling me that my search words must be at least 3 characters long. So basically I can't search for any SG related topics? Kind of bizarre, unless I'm missing something? Thanks.

I just bought an Epiphone SG off ebay and the volume knob doesn't work. I really don't feel like shipping this back to Cali from Miami to return it so I'm hoping someone could tell me where to buy the correct replacement pot as well as instructions on how to fix this (or the wiring diagram I guess)? Im new to playing guitar but I can solder so I want to fix this myself. Any help is appreciated.

Welcome to the forum Dougefresh91, an SG has 2 volume controls and depending on the position you have the 3-way switch in determines which of the volume controls is active. If you have it set to Rhythm then the volume control closest to the bridge is active, alternately, if you have it set to Treble then the volume control closest to the edge of the guitar is the active one.

It could also be a loose wire, take the larger cover off the back and inspect it for loose wires, it's very rare that a pot fails to work at all.

Thanks. :-)