Gibson Brands Forums

Maintenance Work on Your Gibson Acoustics

Hype

Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie to the board and a new owner of a Gibson J-200. I've had acoustics in the past but was not too concerned about the maintenance of them, mainly cos they were cheaper (Epiphone's). But now that I've gotten a brand new J-200 Standard, I want to ensure that I do everything possible to keep it in tip top condition. Don't get me wrong, I don't mind playing the heck out of it that there is some wear (light pick scratches), but I want to avoid the tear (cracking on the body, warping of the neck, bad lacquer cracks, etc).

Anyways, I have a few questions regarding maintenance of your Gibson acoustics.

1) When you guys aren't playing your acoustics, do you keep them in their case? Or do you let them sit on a stand and let them breathe?

I was told by the guitar techs down at Long & McQuade (instrument store in Canada where I bought my axe) to keep it in it's case when you are not playing on it, rather than letting them sit on a guitar stand.

But I've also heard the opposite from some guitar techs to let them rest on a hanger on your wall (much like what you see in the guitar stores) that way you let the wood breathe and you keep all the weight on the neck of the guitar rather then elsewhere, supposedly this will prevent warping. Again, not sure if this is true, but this is what I was told.

Which one of these methods is the correct one to follow?

2) Are acoustic guitar humidifiers really necessary? Do you guys use them? If so which brands do you use?

3) What is the ideal temperature and humidity for Gibson acoustics?

4) Are lacquer cracks in Gibson acoustics common where the neck joins the body? If they are not they today, will they be for sure in the future?

Thanks in advance.........

Hype