Gibson Brands Forums

Which is the better deal ?!

hiddentalent

So, I have $500 saved up and figured I wanted to start bass..again! I have the choice to buy two used bass guitars. One, is a red, BC rich NT Beast 4 string, it's $400. The other is an Epiphone Thunderbird 4 string, and it comes with a marshall 30wat amp, carrying case, cord for $400. The BC only comes w/ the bass and carrying case for the same price. Retail price of the thunderbird - $299.99. Retail of the BC - $600+. The thunderbird is unique due to the fact it's korean made and not made in china. Thunders aren't produced in korea anymore. Only thing I wonder is the thunderbird is a screw-on neck. The BC rich is a neck-through. I'm a beginner. Either way i'd have a hundred bucks left over, and I could buy a cheap amp for the bc rich, or i could just buy the thunder.

Lemme know ?!

So, I have $500 saved up and figured I wanted to start bass..again! I have the choice to buy two used bass guitars. One, is a red, BC rich NT Beast 4 string, it's $400. The other is an Epiphone Thunderbird 4 string, and it comes with a marshall 30wat amp, carrying case, cord for $400. The BC only comes w/ the bass and carrying case for the same price. Retail price of the thunderbird - $299.99. Retail of the BC - $600+. The thunderbird is unique due to the fact it's korean made and not made in china. Thunders aren't produced in korea anymore. Only thing I wonder is the thunderbird is a screw-on neck. The BC rich is a neck-through. I'm a beginner. Either way i'd have a hundred bucks left over, and I could buy a cheap amp for the bc rich, or i could just buy the thunder.

Don't even think about it. Get the BC Rich. T-birds are a dime a dozen, Neck-thru BC Riches can be hard to come by, not to mention that the BC will blow the T-bird out of the water in terms of playability and sound