Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson Pickups, on my Dot..which?

Crow

I've done some searching, but can't find what I wanted so I will ask you guys that "know".

I know it's all about a person's tastes, but I am thinking about changing pickups on my Dot.

First of all, I don't know squat about pickups. I'm not even sure what comes stock on the my Dot. Humbuckers? That's just a name to me. I don't understand this stuff, so be gentle with me.

I am not a musician, I have been playing by ear for 40+ years, and am not a natural. I love playing lead stuff. And lately the blues.

My Dot sounds pretty good to me. I don't have the best amps out there, and don't really know what to do with the knobs anyway. I move them around and get different tones. THat's about it...lol. AM I stupid? no, just never had anyone show me anything, so I am not knowledgeable.

I have been watching videos for a couple of years now, and listening to lot's of electric blues. I love SRV, but my Strat doesn't sound like him, cause it's me playing...lol

THe Dot is my favorite bluesy sounding guitar I own. But could it be better? Smoother maybe? Would changing to Gibson Burstbuckers for instance make a big difference? P90's? I just keep seeing these names so those are the names I am using.I don't know the differences. Listening to youtube doesn't tell me a whole lot cause folks use different amps and different settings anyway.

WHat pickups will "fit right in without mods? I know I will have to take it to a shop (I am 60 miles from anywhere)to get it done.

What are your experiences? Is it an upgrade? I will never own a Gibson ES 335. But what can I do to make mine sound the best it can? What pickups did the old 335's have? Are there different variations?