Gibson Brands Forums

High school years - the music

NeoConMan

I was in high school 1979-1983.

There was some good rock n roll in those years, though I was hung up in the seventies.

But I remember thinking that rock music had gone to HELL by the year I graduated - 1983.

The rock stations were playing Men at Work, Cindy Lauper, Michael Jackson...

1983 sucked BIG TIME for rock n roll.

Everytime I would see something advertising the "Greatest Music of the 80s" I would just shake my head.

I was actually HAPPY when hair metal came on the scene with Ratt, etc...

So I did a search for the Billboard charts from 1983.

http://hotpopsongs.com/Music/Billboard/1983.html

Here's the Top Twenty according to them;

Every Breath You Take - The Police

Billie Jean - Michael Jackson

Flashdance... What A Feeling - Irene Cara

Say Say Say - Paul McCartney & Micheal Jackson

All Night Long (All Night) - Lionel Ritchie

Total Eclipse Of The Heart - Bonnie Tyler

Down Under - Men At Work

Beat It - Micheal Jackson

Islands In The Stream - Kenny Rogers with Dolly Parton

Baby, Come To Me - Patti Austin with James Ingram

Maniac - Michael Sembello

Let's Dance - David Bowie

Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) - Eurythmics

Tell Her About It - Billy Joel

Africa - Toto

Come On Eileen - Dexys Midnight Runners

Electric Avenue - Eddy Grant

Say It Isn't So - Daryl Hall and John Oates

Shame On The Moon - Bob Seger

The Girl Is Mine - Michael Jackson and Paul McCartney

The Police did some cool music - Every Breath You Take doesn't qualify though.

Billie Jean - GTFO...

Flashdance... AAAARRRRGGGGHHHH!!!!!! That song was EVERYWHERE!

Say Say Say proved that Paul McCartney could do sh!tty songs too.

All Night Long - Lionel Ritchie did lotsa pleasant, hummable toe-tapping songs that suck.

Total Eclipse Of The Heart - AAAARRRRGGGGHHHH!!!!!! "Freebird" for drama-queeen chicks!

Down Under - Men At Work were okay I guess - the first MILLION TIMES I heard that goofy sh!t.