Gibson Brands Forums

a little new guy help please....

randall ace

hi...Im randall from ohio , Im new to the world of owning / playing guitars , but not to music , my dad was in a few big bands in the late 60's and 70's ,they had a few hits, and he was a lead guitar player , so i grew up around this type of thing and have always wanted to learn to play like my dad does . Not to long ago i was told that talent such as it takes to play guitar runs in families, so i am picking up a guitar to try my hand at this . Which brings me to why i am here . I just bought a gibson epiphone strat copy off of craigslist . I dont know much about guitars, but bought this one to learn how to play on . The guy i got it from told me this is an older model . I ve looked it over high and low and cant find a serial number anywhere. the head says " epiphone" , and there is a little bolted on plaque that says "gibson" , the body color is very unique, its a black with a yellowish sunbust type look to it . i will have photos up soon , and would love any help or information you fine folks wish to share on what i have here , and where to find the serial number ...

thanks in advance

randall ace

** the silver plaque at the base of the neck on the back just says epiphone - no serial number ... 8(

hi... i got nothing but the guitar .....the back of the head has the word "used" engraved into it at the very tip .......

Hi and welcome.

the serial might have been on a sticker on the back of the head, that just came off.

Did you get the original warrenty card or any paperwork with it?

You have an Epiphone FAT-210. Mid 1990's-early 2000's model. The S-Series (including the FAT-210) was discontinued in 2004.

Often the serial number was on a sticker on the heel of the neck. Some models had it engraved onto the neck plate. Without the serial there is no way to tell the exact year of the guitar, but from the headstock and pickup configuration, it is definitely a mid 90's to 2004 model.