Gibson Brands Forums

Under the bed or closet queens

Tim Plains

You know, those guitars that never see the light of day. Do any of you guys own guitars you never play? Literally, I mean never. The ones that may come out of their case once a year, if that. If you have such a guitar, why do you keep it? Not trying to start an argumentative thread.

Pictures are always welcome.

Yeah its under construction once im done fixing the house.

Pic...

009.jpg

The neck is horrible, i think the truss rod is ****ed and one of the frets has a huge gash, i think ill just trash the neck and keep the body. Dont got the experience to fix the neck.

I'm guilty:

Black Fender California Strat

Blue Flower Fender Statocaster

They got played for a few minutes in the past year.

Can't bear to part with the latter as it is my favorite Fender finish. I have the bass version that I logged some serious man-hours on over the last 5 years as I am mainly a bassist now.

I would sell the Cali strat but have no idea what it is worth.

i rarely play my Ibanez RG any more... once in fact in the last 5 years or so. i just can't part with it: i gigged it for years, and it's been around the world with me (literally: i took it to sea when i was in the military). way too much sentiment, and it's probably not worth too much at this point anyway.

i think i'll take it out tomorrow now for nostalgia' sake. :)

I have them....I'm not even sure how many guitars I own....Every so often I'll pack up some 'house' guitars and trade them out for guitars in cases in storage..

Sometimes I'll open up a case and think, " When did I buy this one ?"

I've got a 1991 J-30 that was originally bought buy a guy for his son. The son didn't 'take' to guitar playing so it went in the closet. I bought it in 2006, changed the strings, and it went back in the case. The warranty papers were never filled out.

j30.jpg

I've also got a 2007 CJ-165R that has maybe been played 3-4 hours in it's life.

cj165front.jpg