Gibson Brands Forums

Need Help with 1976 Gibson Les Paul Standard questions

jamit

Im new to Gibson guitars I have a old Gibson Les Paul standard. I want see what I could find out about it and maybe value. The serial # is OO2345??. The bridge looks like a TP-6 with fine tuners and it has two mini swicthes by the vol and tone knob and gold humbuckers are these stock items?. Any help I can get will be helpful I will try to add some pics Thanks

Im new to Gibson guitars I have a old Gibson Les Paul standard. I want see what I could find out about it and maybe value. The serial # is OO2345??. The bridge looks like a TP-6 with fine tuners and it has two mini swicthes by the vol and tone knob and gold humbuckers are these stock items?. Any help I can get will be helpful I will try to add some pics Thanks

Pics would be helpful. Gold is not stock for a 76 standard, nor is the TP-6..value depends on condition ,and how original it is . Hey...you have a 76 LP. :)

I tried uploading pics but it says my file are to big how can I post pics?

Edit you images in Paint..... Size them down to 50% of what they're currently sized at, then Save As.... Then try to upload again

As gtrplayr1976 mentioned; gold hardware and a tp-6 were not standard 'Standard' fittings in '76.

As there is a pair of mini-toggles added it would seem practically certain the p-ups are not the ones originally fitted - hence the hardware finish anomaly.

The tp-6 was understood to aid fine-tuning. Perhaps a previous owner thought the swap would improve intonation?

Gibson serial numbers from the '70s are notoriously difficult to date and the one you posted looks, to me at any rate, very strange indeed - although I don't have my reference books to hand at the moment. I'll try to check later on.