Gibson Brands Forums

Vintage-styled recording process.

Sancho Panza

I've been thinking about for awhile now, but is it any band that actually recorded in the garage? Do we have anyone here on the forum who was in a band that actually did it? Some of the records that I listen to actually sounds like it could've been recorded in a garage or a basement. Or maybe it just was bad equipment that they recorded on.

The idea of recording in a garage has hit me more than once, but I have NO knowledge what-so-ever about recording. I would love the record like they did in the 60's, mostly to get the "sound" that they did, I know that it is virtually impossible to get the EXACT same sound, but more "dirtier" than the stuff played on the radio today. I don't want to record on a computer, I was thinking and was getting the advice of recording on a reel-to-reel player, is it anyone who has experience from recording on those?

About setting up the "studio", should I record into one mic, like a live recording or?

Could someone please help me?

Thanks in advance for any answers,

Sancho

Guest FarnsBarns

What you are kooking for is kown as Lo-fi. There's loads of info about. I am no recording expert so I'll leave opinions out but look around for info on lo-fi recording.

Guest FarnsBarns

Deep Purples' Machine Head was recorded in a hotel corridor

Most recordings of Bill Broonzy were made in peoples front rooms.

In the digital age with all the recording software, it's possible to record almost anywhere. I've recorded lots of different ways but I did an album late last year where each instrument was miked, but we played live in the same room with no seperation (except a little for the drummer). It was the most fun I've ever had recording, and it 'feels' great. It was a 'performance'. I say, songs and instruments were meant to be played together. Not pieced together like a jigsaw puzzle. Go for it.