Gibson Brands Forums

Surgery......

swleary

I've had a long battle with my left shoulder. I can't play guitar for more than 20 minutes and honestly, that really sucks. My shoulder has been steadily getting worse for the last six years and has really hurt a lot of the things I could do. I finally got a doctor to listen to me :) SO come November, I'll be getting it done and hopefully I'll have more movement in it afterwards. NO guitar or anything for three months after however the big picture is, I should be back playing even more and maybe be able to do more fun things with my daughter. Just thought you guys/girls might want to know lol

It was totally unrelated to guitar playing so no worries there. I was a truck driver back in 2005. Had to pull the pin to release the trailer and it was frozen. I pulled so hard, I ripped the shoulder right out of the socket. Injured so much of the arm, it isn't funny. Most things healed but the AC joint never healed and nor did the scar tissue.

First Measure to answer your one question. Before you play guitar, try to stretch your arms and even your fingers, that might just help you avoid getting hurt. Good technique is a good habit. If you ache, some ice for 5 minutes on the swollen area and if heat doesn`t bother you, then heat . Never put heat on anything swollen, it makes it worse. TG I am medical trained huh lol

I live in Canada, we have to wait for everything...wish it was sooner...

My arm pretty much dangled,however I still had to drive for another 8 hours afterwards. Not a pretty site to shift gears, knee sterring and in pain to boot..oh I remember that night like it was yesterday.

AC joint out of whack? Maybe the doc can install a DC. That ought to clear it up.

Sorry, just a little ER humor to lighten your load.

My wife just had rotator cuff surgery. She'll be laid up a long time. Hope yours isn't as bad.