Gibson Brands Forums

A Little Ramble about Guitar Strings for Bottleneck

BluesKing777

I enjoyed Larry58's ramble, and also very much enjoy Camleye's 'pieces', so here is my rambling contribution.

I have been attempting bottleneck playing for quite a while. I played a metal dobro for years with railroad tracks for strings. Tone!

I had a bicycle accident 5 years or so ago (land developer put a chain across the access road over night and in the morning I hit it at full belt), and I came off at warp speed, broke my right hand and left ribs in a tangle of handlebars, me and cement. Weeks later, in plaster cast and not to be deterred anymore from playing guitar, I somehow got a thumbpick on, then taped it on. I had been playing fingerstyle for many years, but now all I could do was play with a VERY straight thumb. This is when I began to explore playing the higher strings with my thumb, a delta technique apparently.

7 weeks or so later, when the cast came off and off to therapy I go etc etc etc, the thick strings on my dobro felt impossible to play and I got really sore fingers on both hands. I started using 12 - 56 guage strings again and have been using that on all my guitars since. The only exception is an Epi EL00 I had set up for slide with mediums.

SO.... last April I bought my Gibson Blues King. I have played standard tuning, g tuning, d tuning on it, and like to keep my options open without setting it up for bottleneck. With the light guage strings, playing slide on the first string is a real challenge. Previously I had changed the first string ONLY on my Martin 000 hogtop to a Second string (17?) and the guitar remained stable and sounded great for g tuning RJ stuff. Link: http://www.youtube.c...h?v=iTowGuwwGE8