Gibson Brands Forums

Question for Masterbilt Owners

SC_Wannabe

I have a Masterbilt AJ-500M and noticed that the saddle is tilted back towards the bridge pins. I asked about this on another board and was told that some high end guitars are designed this way. I'd like to hear from other Masterbilt owners if their saddle is tilted towards the pins. I've added a pic so you can see exactly what I mean. Thanks.

saddle.jpg

No Sir .. my 2 year old DR-500RNS bridge saddle is mounted straight up. So is my EPI 12-String. I've had Martins and Taylors in my history and have never seen that or heard someone say some 'high-end' instruments are like that. Intonation could be affected with that. Possibly, it's a factory defect. Call the Gibson Customer Service number and point them to this photo of yours. Who knows... everything is so upside down in our world today, maybe that's the way that model is made. Personally, I would NOT accept it.

My AJ500 MEVS has a B Compensated saddle that sits straight up.

I suspect your saddle is not seated properly or has been tampered with.

Easy fix, pull it out. Check for a spacer underneath, re-seat or replace it with another bone saddle.

Thanks for the replies. The saddle slot is routed at an angle (including the bottom), so there is no other way for a saddle to fit into the slot. I checked the intonation of each string, and they all read true at the 12th fret harmonic (the low E was a bit flat). This was with my Korg tuner, however accurate that is. Fretted intonation seems to be acceptable up the neck as well. I bluezguy's advice and sent an email to Gibson customer service tonight.