Gibson Brands Forums

Cafe Gig insights......Using the Capo!!

onewilyfool

When I started learning guitar.....I did NOT have a capo.....which, in retrospect, was a good thing for me! I would learn a song from records...writing down the chords and words....THEN I would transpose the chords to a "key" that was suitable to my limited vocal range....lol....thus, I didn't need a capo, and learned a lot of new chords and how to transpose. Fast forward to present time.....Singing at the cafe, having to up the volume of the guitar, and up my vocals to get over the "din" of the cafe, I've been starting to use the capo on a lot of songs that really HAVE to be played with certain chords and progressions. (for example "something" in C, and "Here comes the sun" in D by the Beatles)....it just sounds wierd in other chords to me! Also raising the voice volume in the cafe often "forces" me to change key from my more relaxed, at home on the sofa voice...I hope you are following me on this...lol....So, for me, using the capo presented some problems.....one, being able to find the right frets, say, when capo'd on the first fret....lol...second fret not so bad because the reminder dots on the neck are similar to open tuning without the capo. But other frets for the capo are still a little problematic for me. (Try doing "Blackbird" capo'd on the first fret....lol)...secondly, when a guitar is capo'd, the entire sound of the guitar changes....for blues, it is great, but for some songs (like "Blackbird") I prefer the open sound of the non-capo'd guitar......anyway, thought I'd share some insights I've been having of giging vrs. home play!!

Way back when I used to make capos out of a pencil and rubber band. But I just don't like the things and have not used one for years. While a capo does make life easier ya can't really get a Lightnin' Hopkins vibe if ya can't play around the nut. And I love me those big banging cowboy chords.