Gibson Brands Forums

sg scratchplate

adelaide aus

Hello All,

Newbie here, Can anyone tell me if there is a way of getting scratches out of the pickguard on an SG? On Les Paul's it's easy, two screws and replace it. On SG's it's not quite so easy.

I think the only way to get rid of the scratches is to replace the pickguard....I don't think you can polish your pickguard. But isn't the whole point of a pickguard to protect the guitar from scratches... [razz]

I wouldn't worry too much about it if i were you, i have/had the same problem, wanting to keep my guitars in 'perfect' state. But i just realised something, if i can expres my ideas/music with my guitar, i shouldn't be bothered with trivial stuff like scratches on a guitar [thumbup]

Cheers,

:D/

If you decide to replace the pickguard........check out www.pickguardian.com.

pickguardian is better for custom pickguards, I know the guy he lives right here in town and frequents the 'Fifth Avenue Fret Shop' here in columbus ohio. but if you want a sg pickguard for great price and fits perfectly, because I went through it already,,, perfect_pitch_music on eBay, I found a SG special 5-ply for 31.99 free shipping. Perfect fit.. I mean perfect.

pickguardian is better for custom pickguards, I know the guy he lives right here in town and frequents the 'Fifth Avenue Fret Shop' here in columbus ohio. but if you want a sg pickguard for great price and fits perfectly, because I went through it already,,, perfect_pitch_music on eBay, I found a SG special 5-ply for 31.99 free shipping. Perfect fit.. I mean perfect.

i checked out pickguardian but they require you to send in the guard, unlike everyone else. i did not bother inquiring on pricing. one the plus side, he has a 2-day turnaround vs. 2-3 weeks elsewhere. imo it's risky having my 30-yr old pickguard go thru shipping *twice*. i've sent/received 500+ packages and 1% have gotten lost or stolen so i won't take chances with something very difficult to replace.