Gibson Brands Forums

Hawaii Five-0

Californiaman

So when I was in seventh grade I learned how to play the theme song to Hawaii Five-0 on cornet.

Yesterday out of the depths of conscious I started playing it on guitar.

Nailed it too. It just came out. Now I can play it on guitar. Go figure. The last time I played it was in the '70s.

That's one of those songs that, despite being a TV show theme song, should probably go on the list of "most recognizable tunes of the 20th century." I remember playing it in high school marching band in the seventies. I was at a wedding reception today, and the DJ played some sort of remix of it there!

Back then, title songs were played by full orchestras. That makes for great variation and color. I loved 5-O! Book 'em Dan-o. [thumbup]

I've read that Jack Lord essentially retired after the last Hawaii Five-O episode wrapped. As part owner, the show made him a wealthy man. Besides, who would want to leave Hawaii for Hollyweird?

Back then, title songs were played by full orchestras. That makes for great variation and color. I loved 5-O! Book 'em Dan-o. [thumbup]

I've read that Jack Lord essentially retired after the last Hawaii Five-O episode wrapped. As part owner, the show made him a wealthy man. Besides, who would want to leave Hawaii for Hollyweird?

Yeah no kidding. I visited Hawaii during the 70s and again on our honeymoon in '97. Flying into Oahu you could see how drastically it had changed.

Fortunately I honeymooned on Maui and didn't have to stay on Oahu. I'm sure it has it's good spots.

I might be stating the obvious, but I believe The Ventures recorded the original TV theme. :-k

I've sat around and worked out the melody line on guitar, but then I forget about it and have to start all over learning it the next time. #-o

Guest rogerb