Gibson Brands Forums

J200 Surgery Sucessful!

drathbun

I decided to put at stap button on the new J200. I know the whole argument about strap buttons; both sides of it. However, this is NOT a vintage instrument and I've never been comfortable with the strap attached at the headstock. So I bought a gold strap button and went to work drilling and screwing.

Just remember folks... I am a trained professional! :rolleyes: I've taken necks off my guitars and scraped them down with rat-tail rasps that would make most of you faint. I've drilled holes in three Larrivee's to install iBeam pickups. So I'm no stranger to taking a weapon..umm tool, to an expensive instrument. That being said, this is the single most expensive guitar I've ever owned and so my hands shook a little.

Here is the process:

1. Decide on strap button placement. Refering to the button placement option guitar (Stew-Mac)

ts0055a.jpg

I decided on position #5. It is the most popular and all my other acoustics have this position. It holds the guitar securely without "dumping forward" or causing the guitar to sit high in the case as position $4 does.

2. Put masking tape over the location on the guitar and mark the spot with a Sharpie.

IMG_0553.jpg

3. Select a drill bit that is slightly smaller than the OD of the screw threads and place masking tape on it at the max depth of the screw.

IMG_0555.jpg

4. Drill baby drill! The key is to go slow. The masking tape helps keep the drill bit from skiddering across the glossy surface (again BAD!) and also helps keep the nitro from cracking. This nitro is still pretty soft. Again maple is hard hard wood and going fast with a drill will cause heat (more BAD). So I took a great deal of time and care with this in speed, angle and pressure. It is only a small hole, but oh so important.

IMG_0554.jpg