Gibson Brands Forums

my new Wildkat

rubyred

gday

i am a newbie here and have some dumb Qs about the bigsby on `Ruby` yeah I know - I just had to name her.

I just picked up this beautiful Wildkat yesterday and have no experience with the bigsby - one of the reasons I bought it and also i have wanted a semi-hollow for a long time, plus the price was very good ($480 Au), it is in excellent condition, not a mark on it, came with a case, upgraded p-ups, don`t know what they are as the guy selling it had his Guitar tech mate do it and all his other guitars are strats and teles. But it sounds a lot cleaner than my other 2 and has a great growl to it, and an awesome jazz sound when clean.

I had been looking at getting a Dot 335, then I started looking at the Gretsch 5120, then this fell in my lap and for less than half of what i was going to pay, I was pretty happy.

ruby.jpg

I have a `91 Les Paul Std, and a Wilshire - one of the special run ones done a couple of years ago 9this fell into my lap as a mate needed speakers so I swapped him a pair of B&W DM602 for it , I have just started to play again after about 10-12yrs break, and the music/sound of Rev. Horton heat was part of the motivation to look for a new guitar.

threeguitars.jpg

I have noticed that it has been re-strung incorrectly, the trem still works, I didn1t notice when i played it yesterday only on closer inspection this morning - can the bigsby be strung in different ways? sorry for the dumb question, but i have no idea.

ruby-trem.jpg

there is some buzz on the low E and A strings so I was planning to raise the bridge a bit and redo the intonation, as I have to do the other 2 because of sitting around.

thanks for your time - sorry about the dumb Qs and my raving .

The routing on the Kats Bigsby (B7 I do believe) should be under that bar to keep string tension on the saddles.

If you look into buying a Bigsby for other guitars you will see some without the bar (like a B3)