Gibson Brands Forums

Strange Les Paul

blue meanie

hi all

first post here from Paris, France and please forgive my bad english

I'm a 44 years old amateur guitarist and have just found this strange LP on the street. It seems to be an Artist model with no electronics.

It's pretty damaged but the serial number gives me :

Nashville Plant, TN, USA

October 17th, 1979

Production Number: 38

I have no clue about this guitar and some even says that it's not a real one.

What do you think ?

3489ce9678f7cfb780a18b1afc8608017dc1f7eb.jpeg

e7b01b29c3fe84774ad9799299561d6619d3a4c7.jpeg

29f8ace8dd147820218007eb8f7480ec1e37a0c6.jpeg

14086271c15b61636ac9558a430462dc4ae132a4.jpeg

80362c69de2ace910b7c4eadc4c3fda12420211b.jpeg

e5fa25e73e3bd8e8d2981f9d4558546521757f91.jpeg

c7717b49e581146d79663335bddcab49c6403349.jpeg

It is an Artist model with Moog electronics. It appears that when it was being used as a playing instrument, it was modified by removing the Moog electronics and made to work as a normal Les Paul.

The construction details like the headstock and body shape are consistent with being genuine. So is the hardware.

I see nothing to suggest it was a fake.

It is a true shame it was cut in half. If someone did that because they thought it was a fake, they were likely mistaking the not often seen electronics. Perhaps an angry spouse?

It is an Artist model with Moog electronics. It appears that when it was being used as a playing instrument, it was modified by removing the Moog electronics and made to work as a normal Les Paul.

The construction details like the headstock and body shape are consistent with being genuine. So is the hardware.

I see nothing to suggest it was a fake.

It is a true shame it was cut in half. If someone did that because they thought it was a fake, they were likely mistaking the not often seen electronics. Perhaps an angry spouse?