Gibson Brands Forums

Newbie, need guitar advice

Rinooo

Hello everyone,

I have been playing with electric guitar on and off for around 3 years ago learning from YouTube. I started with one of those beginner packs (no brand). I enjoy rock/metal music (ex. Gun and roses, ozzy and metallic), I like players like Randy rhoads and slash. Usually, when I have the time, I would search up tabs on some solos and just learn the solos. Recently, I got a bit more time so am planning to upgrade my guitar.

So far, I have considered the following guitars,

Les Paul standard plain top

Epiphone SG G400

Wash burn xm pro2

Ibanez rga42

My budget is around 600 usd... Could anyone please give me some advice as to which guitar to go for or any other suggestions? Also, my amp right now is a laney lx12( power consumption 20w, output power rating 10w, TEC tube emulating technology?) I hope that's the info I need to give.

Lastly, as I'm currently in Asia, Will the LPs I get here be Korea or china produced and will that affect the quality? Thanks a bunch for all your time!

Welcome to the forum Rinooo.

I may be able to help but as with everything else, it'll come down to personal preference.

I'd say go for the Les Paul but not the plain top.

The LP Prophecy will offer so much more for what you are looking for.

These guitars have upgraded electronics and pickups which would be better postioned for metal.

In the case of the Prophecy LPs, one has Gibson Dirty Fingers pickups (until the new one hits the stores) and EMG 85/81 (active).

Both will do quite nicely, but if you are into Slash and RR I'd go for the Prophecy LP GX with the Dirty Fingers pickups.

They are hot pickups and through a good amp it'll sound killer.

If you opt for the EX, the EMGs are very cool for metal but they clean up nicely.

Do bear in mind that you may find some EX and GX out there still, though they have been discontinued.