Gibson Brands Forums

Lifeson Access McDLT Mod

zGrooveMeister

I was hoping one or more of the members who have implemented the "hot side hot/cold side cold" mod could provide us with detailed instructions on how to do it. I think I'm going to do this now rather than later and some guidance would be extremely helpful.

Thanks in advance to anyone who takes the time to post instructions.

• 2 weeks later...

Attached is a picture of my McDLT'ed AL electronics. I didn't do it myself, I'm not an electrician or engineer, and therefore I can't post any instructions. But this picture may help someone who is able to do that offer insight. All I know is this mod was well done and everything now works and sounds great. I was told by the guy that did this work that the factory grounding was inadequate as the grounding tape used will inevitably separate from the wire and the adhesive interferes with solid grounding. I don't know what he did to fix that, but he did.

Also, I would post more pictures in higher resolution, but apparently I'm up against my lifetime cap having originally posted happy pictures of my new AL acquisition. So I hope this helps.

post-31766-086460500 1323195044_thumb.jpg

• 2 weeks later...

My buddy did the mod to my guitar. Although the schematic from Graphtec helps it doesn't depict the AL model. Trust me the AL has waaaaaay more wires but as a guide it's great. I posted in another thread what I remember from the mod that was done to my guitar. I can report many gigs later that my guitar works flawlessly.. best decision to do this mod.

• 1 month later...

So why did you do the mod?

Was it because of noise, or just bleed? And did it fix it?

Having some major noiseproblems with mine ( Look at the "Another Faulty AL" ) and just wondering if splitting the Piezo and the magnetics to one input each will solve this....

So why did you do the mod?

Was it because of noise, or just bleed? And did it fix it?