Gibson Brands Forums

Guitar and vocal amplification for very small gig...

Plainsman

Warning, question from a total newb here.

I've only played in front of my family. I've been given the opportunity to do a couple of volunteer solo acoustic gigs at two area rest homes. Not much of a gig to most folks on here I'm sure, but totally nerve-racking for me. It would be for about 20-30 people, in a large sitting area with couches. I'd be doing traditional country and gospel numbers. They'd like me to play 45 minutes to an hour. Most of the attendees are hard of hearing. I don't have a very loud singing voice. The only gear I have is my J 45 with factory pickup.

Should I buy a powered speaker and small mixer? Would that be way overkill for this? Would most places I may play in the future already have a PA anyway, so I wouldn't need that setup for future use either? Would a small acoustic amp do the job, any reccomendations? Should I try it with no amplification, or would that be a mistake? I know other singers have performed there with CD backing tracks, using a mic and one of those small powered monitors. Also full acoustic bands have played there with no amplification. Well, I did see a small amp for the bass; but vocals, guitars, banjos, mandos, etc were unamplified.

Thanks for any help anyone can give me. I really want to do this, but I'm super nervous. And have no idea what I am doing!

My first thought would be to recommend to do the gig "acoustic". In this day and age most musicians forget that there were musical performances happening for a couple thousand years before electricity and amplification was invented. I've done many educational type engagements without amplification to rooms of up to maybe 50 to 100. But then they weren't the hard of hearing elderly.