Gibson Brands Forums

Just Picked Up Rocksmith Bundle

solidwing

Hi all my name is James and I have just picked up the Rocksmith Bundle for PS3. I got it at best buy and paid $200 for it and now I got it home and I'm a complete noob when it comes to playing musical instruments. I've never played an electric guitar before and I always wanted to learn. I decided to pick this up because I read it's reviews and seen it got good scores, and that it really excels at teaching beginners how to play. Another reason why I wanted to learn how to play was because of my favorite band Mudvayne, their songs have really cool rhythms to it and I always thought one day I want to try and cover some of their songs. So now I have a few questions I'd like to ask. 1, I am left-handed and I hold the neck with my right and use the pick to pluck the strings with my left, and the knobs at the bottom I don't know what they are for, but they are in the way. 2, Is there any website I can go to to see like a beginner's guide on how to play, position my fingers, know what each string is and so on. I don't know what else to ask, but if anyone can help me on some beginner's stuff I'd appreciate the help, thanks and take care.

I just read the Wikipedia about Rocksmith. It SOUNDS like a great Idea.

What guitar are you using now? The thought of playing a "Right-Handed"

instrument upside down AND leaving the strings as is Freaks my mind out.

I really am thinking a left-handed Guitar would be to your advantage!

I taught myself to play at 13 using a Mel Bay chord book, cannot remember

how I was exposed to Barre Chords. Rocksmith appears to be the "electronic"

version of a Beginner's chord/song book, with several extra goodies tossed in.

I'm thinking that if you are indeed a "Lefty", you should be using a Git for

Left Handed players, as it would simplify your learning of chords, and would

definitely speed up the learning curve. I'm a "right-handed" player, and if I