Gibson Brands Forums

Lame Question... Battery

spooler

Hey there folks,

Sorry for the noob question but I have just entered into the world of guitars and have a new GT PRO, which to this point I love. However.... the battery is likely toast after only playing on it for about 10 hours, this is likely due to the fact that I have just purchased it and dont know if it was on display or was played much or whatever, either way, I need to change it. So the obvious question is that I assume the battery is under the back plate on the back??? I am in a Hotel in HKG so cant really just get a screw driver and take a look but anyway...

Additionally I have heard a few people talk about changing the pickups to "passive". Is this worth the investment or are the pickups ok. I am a new guitarist... like really new (two months) so I am not looking to make any changes right away but this guitar is my travel guitar for me to practice when I am at work away from home in the hotels. I will not be recording with it but if it is an upgrade to go to different pickups then it might be something I will consider for the future. Thoughts please..... and thanks in advance.

Cheers

PS: I have managed to get a battery and a screwdriver but alas I am now even more confused. There is no battery under the back panel and three wires leading into the guitar itself... and they all go to their individual pickups which I have removed all of to look at and see if one of them takes the battery... ??? Standing bye for help. I will try to take it to the guitar shop when I am in Alaska where I bought it on the way home but still I would think that this should be something that I can change without a degree in ENG.

Ok,