Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson Hummingbird

Pammiestar

Hi there everyone.

Im a newbie and would like a bit of advice please. Im looking to buy a Hummingbird (would LOVE a J200 but its soooo expensive). Anyway I tried the hummingbird acoustic out in my local shop and it sounded so sweet and beautiful and just fell in love with it. However I thought I would find it cheaper on line so I did a bit of research and found a great music shop that sells them and thats when I got confused. Sorry if this is a silly question to some but whats the difference between Hummingbird Artist LTD and the Hummingbird Acoustic Pro EC, and the classic HCS. Is it the colour, the number of frets etc. Will it more or less sound the same?

I won't be able to try any out as its from abroad and will be shipped over.

Thanks again

Pammie

Firstly welcomne to the forum, you will find a lot of good advice and lots great folks.

Now to answer you question, and ill get to the point the HB pro and artist are not really true HB's, rather marketing referances. They have the shape of a songwriter which is completely different cattle of fish. Dont mean it doesnt sound good, as they do, but you wont get the true HB tone which it seems youre afer.

The HCS I think is the real HB shape, so you should keep an eye for that or a HB Modern Classic and if you want the real good stuff, I mean top shelf whisky bar kinda stuff then take a look at a Hummingbird True Vintage.

Hope that helps and good luck !

Welcome to the nuthouse!

There's an old saying that goes A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush, and when choosing a guitar it applies. If you found a great guitar locally don't let the pursuit of a few dollars savings put you off it - the one you order might be a loser. You can investigate the different models of the Hummingbird here on the Gibson site. But still, whenever possible, support your local shops!