Gibson Brands Forums
Sign in to follow this  
PickyPick

Epiphone Dove

Im in the market for an Epiphone Dove guitar (i prefer it over the Hummingbird simply cause its made of Maple) I have a few questions though. I read elsewhere that the sides of these guitars are laminated and how does that turn out for aging? as far as i know the Spruce top is solid so that would open up the wood but what about the rest of the instrument? Also one fellow on youtube had his Dove custom ordered to have the whole guitar solid, which means no laminated parts. How is this possible?

Also i am an onstage player so i would also like to ask what are some above decent acoustic guitar pickups? im liking the Fishman i hear from the video but what others are there? i am new to the acoustic guitar world (you would see me more towards the Epi Electrics section :P) and dont know that much about Acoustic stuff. greatly appreciated for helping :D

i would be suspect of that video and seller, simply because although he claims solid back and sides, he never actually shows the back and sides in the video (in addition to some poor playing and bag grammar :rolleyes: ). Since these are all made en mass abroad I cannot believe that someone could special order one guitar. Additionally, for the price you'd pay for something like that, you could just get a masterbilt or who knows even a cheap used j45 or something.