Gibson Brands Forums

Red Snapper Blues

Scotto

Hey all.

I live in Destin Florida. I have been fishing and diving the gulf coast here since 1978. In recent years the Fisheries Management Council has continued to find ways to shorten the season and bag limit for red snapper. I can tell you first hand that there have never been so many and so large a population as we have here (going back to '78). In 2011 we were only allowed to fish for red snapper for 48 days. Regulations like this are really impacting our charter boats and their families, and everyone who enjoys fishing and eating red snapper.

I wrote a song about what is going on here, called Red Snapper Blues. It is a simple song, played in 3/4 time. I am offering the song up for all musicians on the gulf coast (or anywhere for that matter) to perform as they wish.

The sound quality on the you tube video is not very good - I recorded directly from my stock IPad2. I am playing my Montana Gold J-200 which is by far my favorite guitar, and the one that I hope to keep and pass on to my sons one day.

Thank you and enjoy!

Scott / Caribbean Camouflage

Nice song Scott...and noble lament!

Just as you are affected in your ocupation and local area by 'governmental and beaurocratic' oversight and regulation....so are we all...in this country!

I know of no legal and bloodless solutions to it except 'sing about it' and vote the bums out [thumbup]

Cheers!

Scott,

For over 50 years I have fished the Atlantic and Chesapeake Bay. We have

endured stringent regulations on most of our popular species like Flounder and

Red Drum (Redfish). For 5 years we had a complete moratorium on Striped Bass.

Now we have one of the healthiest Striper fisheries in the country. I didn't

like the regs either but I fished, caught and ate other species. In every

single case the regulated species rebounded dramatically.Snapper is delicious

and expensive, that's why it's in trouble and over fished. I appreciate that charter boats