Gibson Brands Forums

Great news! I'm now a guitar teacher.

What's the point your trying to establish? Just saying, you don't have to always be the best at something. I learn as I go and learn by doing and I play from experience and experience over time builds Skills

Nah! I wish you well, I was just kidding with you, don't get mad at me I was feeling in playful mood. ;)

I thought about teaching for some extra cash but people with degrees in music charge $15 an hour so that means I'd have to charge $10, after transportation et cetera I'd be making like 5 bucks for the lesson, not worth it.

I don't know where you live, but around central Ohio those with music degrees charge $25 for a half hour lesson. There are a few that will do in home lessons, but most of them give the lessons in a studio or in their home.

I don't know where you live, but around central Ohio those with music degrees charge $25 for a half hour lesson. There are a few that will do in home lessons, but most of them give the lessons in a studio or in their home.

I'm in LA, and from what I've seen browsing around Craigslist the average price is about $20 an hour. Since I don't have a degree I'd have to charge considerably lower for anyone to have any interest.. I'd be profiting like $5 a lesson, waste of time.

That's great! Teaching can be a lot of fun and also frustrating at times. But it's always worth it. I taught both piano and guitar in the past. Nowadays I only teach my son.

BTW, when I taught I was still taking lessons myself. But I just stayed one lesson ahead of my students! Sorry, it's on old joke but still a good one. [biggrin]

This is probably the worst thread derail I've ever seen in my time on these boards.

TAKE YOUR MISSISSIPPI POLITICS ELSEWHERE.

The OP is trying to drum up encouragement for a teaching endeavor, give him a little support.

GEEZ.....