Gibson Brands Forums

Beginner here, in love with the Les Paul .....

a7d7e7

Hey folks .....

I've been playing for about a month after a year of start/frustration/quit.

Currently I'm using a Peavey Predator that is old and out of tune every 5 minutes.

I visited my local music store a few times and test-played some Stratocasters.

Yesterday the sales guy says, "Ever consider a Les Paul?"

"Maybe if I win the lottery I could afford one," I said.

The sales guy hands me a Les Paul. A traditional, I think it was.

"This costs a little more than the American Deluxe Strats you've been playing here. But it's worth it," the guy says.

Well. OMG! Turns out that the LP neck is a little wider than the Strat and I wasn't muting strings that should be played open. More room for my fingers!

Then we plugged her in and .... THAT SOUND!!!

I'm sold.

Hey folks .....

I've been playing for about a month after a year of start/frustration/quit.

Currently I'm using a Peavey Predator that is old and out of tune every 5 minutes.

I visited my local music store a few times and test-played some Stratocasters.

Yesterday the sales guy says, "Ever consider a Les Paul?"

"Maybe if I win the lottery I could afford one," I said.

The sales guy hands me a Les Paul. A traditional, I think it was.

"This costs a little more than the American Deluxe Strats you've been playing here. But it's worth it," the guy says.

Well. OMG! Turns out that the LP neck is a little wider than the Strat and I wasn't muting strings that should be played open. More room for my fingers!

Then we plugged her in and .... THAT SOUND!!!

I'm sold.

My first ever guitar was an epiphone start knock off....upgraded that to a prs Santana after 2 years....now like12 years later of on and off playing as a hobby, I own a lp,traditional and LOOOOOOVVE it! The fat neck was a big selling point...50s style all the way. Bends are soooo much smoother now, I can already tell a difference in the week I've owned it.