Gibson Brands Forums

Extension Cabinet Aspirations

JamGuy

Before anyone gets all hot with me... yeah, I know this isn't exactly an Epiphone or Gibson related question but the master plan is to be playing one of mine through it eventually:)

So here's the scoop...

I went to the antique/junk furniture store with the little lady today and found this number and paid $35 bucks for it, thinking I could turn it into a kick___ extension cab. My questions are these...

1) Has anyone attempted such a project?

2) Is this worth pursing as a reasonable project with satisfactory outcome?

3) The baffle shown with the measuring tape is a little wider than 15", the baffle shown in the other pic of the backside of the cab is a little wider than 12"... would it be safe to assume that the original baffle is for a 15" speaker and the non-orig. baffle is for a 12" speaker?

4) Anyone know of a cool furniture restoration forum? I'm new at this sort of thing but the potential seems huge for making an absolutely fantastic piece of musically functional art.

Thanks a bunch! -JG

ampcab1front.jpg

ampcabback.jpg

speakerbaffle.jpg

Yes, yes and yes.

Score on your part. No reason that couldn't work AND sound good as a cab for a good (or great) speaker. Also seems like it has built in versatility to use either a 12" or 15" speaker.

It also seems like for a living room cab, would have a high WAF (Wife Approval Factor).

Yes, yes and yes.

Score on your part. No reason that couldn't work AND sound good as a cab for a good (or great) speaker. Also seems like it has built in versatility to use either a 12" or 15" speaker.

It also seems like for a living room cab, would have a high WAF (Wife Approval Factor).