Gibson Brands Forums

I hope this gets easier

heymisterk

[angry] [angry] [angry]

Trying to learn my Tascam DP-004 so I can share some tasty bits with you guys.

The owner's manual is 112 pages long.

I am new to home recording.

You get the idea.

I know I know: I should have listened to CB and others and bought computer recording software. The problem is, I don't have a laptop.

I shall overcome. Still, I feel like the school burnout sitting in front of a board full of trigonometry and I can't leave until I do them correctly. ](*,)

Once you get the hang of it, its all good. Have you tried watching any youtube videos on how to use the recorder?

Yes, that is what I figure: kind of like riding a (very difficult) bike. I have watched a couple of the videos, and one was very good, but it only taught me the basics of laying a basic track. It was funny because the guy making the video used a camo hunting knife to point to different knobs and inputs.

Hate to say I told you so...

You will be able to use the basic features well fairly quickly but there are some that are pretty out there especially if you have never used this type of recorders.

I hope you read waht I posted about microphones on the other thread.

I think a stand alone recorder is easier to use than computer software. I use them both. But I prefer using my 16 track digital recorder.

It's just that manual you have to master first. Read it all. And then read it as you need to when doing certain functions. After a while it will become easier for you. I guarantee it.

Just don't give up! [biggrin]

Good luck and have fun.

I really do believe that once I figure it out, I...will have figured it out, and it will be easy, at least the basics. I think it's just getting over the hump. I must say that the basic track I recorded with my Shure mic sounds pretty damn good...