Gibson Brands Forums

Not Bonding!

Pammiestar

Hiya everyone

I bought my beautiful Bird in December and was super excited about it. However, I can't seem to bond with it. :(

I think the reason is because my fingers hurt a hell of lot when playing it. I have been playing my Yamaha for over 2 years and have built up callouses, however every time I play my bird it hurts A LOT and I have to really push down very hard to let it ring out true. And so then callouses seem to go softer (not exactly sure why) and I end up going back to my Yamaha to build them up again, give my fingers a little break and its sort of a vicious circle.

The guy at the shop changed the strings when I bought it to the Elixir Bronze 012-053.

Is this normal to feel like this? or is it just me? Want to bond with my bird but its lying sadly in its box. HELP!!!

Ps. Someone mentioned a setup, think it was Jinder, should I try to do that?

Pammie

Yes, I agree that a set-up is what you need. A properly set-up acoustic can play like butter. It sounds like the strings are too high at the nut.

Find a competant repair facility and have it done (may not be from the shop in which you purchased the guitar) <_< I think you and the bird should bond after that [thumbup]

Could also be the Elixirs, I'm allergic to them, I've tried them a couple of times and end up with Chernobyl fingers afterwards to the point I can't play guitar at all till they heal, as such I won't even play a few chords on a guitar that has Elixirs on it now.

Try some other strings first, if the same feeling is there you should have a setup done to get the guitar into the best playable condition for you.

Two things, get a set up definitely as it clearly sounds the action is too high. The Bird being short scale should have lower tension and be a dream to play.

Secondly, get rid of the Elixirs, they are slippery and difficult to manage. I suggest DR Sunbeams as they are easy to grip and also have a lower tension than normal strings.