Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson Les paul 50's tribute HB or Gibson SG special faded

trapt_under

hey everyone!

im ordering a guitar (my first gibson) but i cant really decide on which one. I've been playing for a few years now but mostly with lower end/cheaper guitar makes e.g. squier, epiphone. and im sort of a noob at guitar specs and all.

im ordering a guitar from someone i know (the part of the world where i live does not have any gibson stores nearby). so thats the problem, that i cant try any of the guitars to find out what suits me.

other than the sound, specs, looks and all, a major consideration i have is the weight of the guitar. the two guitars i have are epiphone les paul studio and a squier strat. the epiphone les paul is a good guitar but a bit too heavy which bothered my while playing, and after i got my strat i stopped playing it altogether. i dont want to make a mistake like that again! ive heard sg is the way to go if you want a lighter guitar but ive also heard that the les paul 50's tribute has a chambered body so that lightens the weight as well, and its not as heavy as most les pauls.

hope you guys can help me decide [confused]

Welcome, to the forum!

Yeah, of the two, and with your weight requirements, the SG's are pretty hard to beat!

Plus, unfettered upper fret access (if that's any consideration, to you, at all).

The Les Paul is a great guitar, though. So, I'd say whichever one, you choose, will be

a good one, provided they're of equal overall quality (fit, finish, playability, etc.).

Good Luck!

CB

These are the very two Gibson models I own so, hopefully, I can advise.