Gibson Brands Forums

Working Man Blues

Namvet

Thnx. Comments like this make me want to try a little harder. Eventually I might get through one without messing up.

Don't worry about messing up. The ones who don't try are the ones messing up.

I posted a couple of links a while ago of me playing along with a Gary Moore CD and some Neil Young. I know darn well it wasn't my best showing but it was the first time I tried recording myself. I felt a little embarassed at first but so what. I tried. Next time will be much better.

Keep on keeping on.

Dave

Don't worry about messing up. The ones who don't try are the ones messing up.

I posted a couple of links a while ago of me playing along with a Gary Moore CD and some Neil Young. I know darn well it wasn't my best showing but it was the first time I tried recording myself. I felt a little embarassed at first but so what. I tried. Next time will be much better.

Keep on keeping on.

Dave

Yeah, I'm new at trying to record myself also. Guess its trying too hard. This one I was kinda making it up as I went along (can't ever seem to be able to do the same thing twice in a row)and like you I get a bit embarrassed knowing I didn't get it like I wanted even if no one else catches it. Thanks again for the support

Recording yourself is always worthwhile, but the pressure of knowing that you're recording can throw off even very experienced players, and can be crippling when starting off. When I had a small studio in the 90's , I would ask the lead player to “rehearse the solo to the track a couple of times” and surreptitiously record the “rehearsal.” 50% of the time, the player would get it just right when they thought it wasn’t being recorded, but choke when the red light came on.

Thnx. Comments like this make me want to try a little harder. Eventually I might get through one without messing up.