Gibson Brands Forums

SG and Les Paul pickups

Cooperstowncook

Hey everyone,

I wanted to get your thoughts on something. I have a 2011 Gibson SG Standard that I was able to aquire last month in a trade. I love SG's and I love this guitar. SG's are my favorite guitar to play, however...I had a 2004 Gibson Les Paul that sounded amazing. Playing it through the same practice amp I have, on the same settings, the Les Paul has a much heavier, deeper tone than the SG's I have. What are your thoughts on changing the 498T's and the 490R's for burstbuckers or 5'7 classics? I love the SG, but I'm curious about the difference in pickups. I'm just starting to learn about different hardware, and appologize if this has been covered before.

In my opinion the reason the Les Paul sounds heavier is because it has alot more wood in the guitar itself. In other words, the body is thicker and heavier which gives a different tone with the same style of pick ups played through the same amp compared to the SG. Changing you pick ups to the 57 classics on your SG is going to mellow it out more and not sound as bright or aggressive, going back to a more vintage tone. If your looking for a heavier thicker sound you may want to try another route by going with the burst bucker type. These are just my 2 cents, Tim

Hey Coop. Have you had the SG setup properly? If not, you may want to start with that. Then try experimenting with pickup height. In my experience with these ceramic humbuckers, I've found that when they're lower (away from the strings) they sound much better. Less magnetic pull on the strings and a much fuller sound. Can't hurt to try.

Hey Coop. Have you had the SG setup properly? If not, you may want to start with that. Then try experimenting with pickup height. In my experience with these ceramic humbuckers, I've found that when they're lower (away from the strings) they sound much better. Less magnetic pull on the strings and a much fuller sound. Can't hurt to try.