Gibson Brands Forums

EPIPHONE DOT STRINGS

brisse

Hi everybody , I am a beginner guitar student, I bought an epiphone dot ebony and I d like to replace the original strings with d'addario chromes flat wound , does anyone knows what is the epiphone dot installed strings size ?

can i replace those strings with d'addario .011-.050 without any guitar adjustment ? or is it better i use gauge .010-.048 ?

I am a beginner ... but i'd like to get a warm guitar sound

thanks!

Welcome to the forum. [biggrin]

On the Dot you are going to find .010 - .046 gauge.

Yes, going to a different string gauge often means having to do small adjustments. You may have to file the nuts slots some, lower the pups slightly, or raise the bridge.

What kind of amp are you using? A nice tube amp can make your tone a little warmer as well.

Good luck! [thumbup]

I have always found that between the amp and guitar controls all is possible. A good screwdriver can do the fine tuning if need be. I have not found a stock DOT to be overly bright. Usually the complaint is muddy sounding.

Welcome... Hold on your in for a good ride...........

sbwVp.gif

String gauge choice should be based on how much bending you do. The more bending, the more you need 9's or 10's. If you do little if any bending, then go thicker. You can get a warm, full sound with 9's (as I do), by amp EQ settings, and with various magnets and pots. With some tweaking, my 9's sound as thick as most guy's 11's, and I don't have to worry about carpal tunnel or arthritis. There's been plenty of big name rockers with great tones that use(d) 8's.

• 1 year later...