Gibson Brands Forums

How good are the ES335s?

aquat26

Hi,

I have been learning to play guitar for 12 months. I'm an average guitarist, still learning and hopefully getting better. I am passionate about all old blues and and 60's rock and roll. I'm looking at buying a guitar and out of all that I have seen the ES335 Block Neck appeals the most. I'm looking at buying one that is new and costs about GBP £2700 or US $4300. Are they really worth what to me is a lot of money? I would love to hear personal stories and facts about what makes this guitar better than others.

Thanks.

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've never owned one, but they are famous for being great guitars with great tone. However, as with many Gibsons, they are quite heftily priced and, dare I say it, probably somewhat overpriced. You might find you can get better value for money on smaller brands and, at £2400, you could probably get a luthier to build you one to your specs. Of course, you wouldn't have the famous Gibson logo on the head, but you might end up with a better value guitar, so different brands are a decision worth considering if you're after a 335. Ultimately, you should try before you buy.

Hi,

I have been learning to play guitar for 12 months. I'm an average guitarist, still learning and hopefully getting better. I am passionate about all old blues and and 60's rock and roll. I'm looking at buying a guitar and out of all that I have seen the ES335 Block Neck appeals the most. I'm looking at buying one that is new and costs about GBP £2700 or US $4300. Are they really worth what to me is a lot of money? I would love to hear personal stories and facts about what makes this guitar better than others.

Thanks.