Gibson Brands Forums

Epi Valve Senior noise

Ok, I'm enjoying my new Valve Senior very much, but I'm noticing it is a noisy amp. I have limited experience with tube amps (this is the first one I've owned) and so I don't really know how much noise is normal. I've noticed the noise varies depending on the room (I assume due to different electricity supply etc) but even in the least noise-inducing locations it's still noisy. The noise I get is essentially of two sorts - scratchiness and mild popping (reminds my of how my parents old record player used to sound, perhaps not surprisingly), and feedback (not due to the guitar, and not screechingly loud).

These effects are audible when there isn't even a lead plugged into the amp. They are not volume dependant, so the noise gets easily drowned out as the volume increases - you can't really hear anything other than buttery tube goodness when the volume goes up, but when I'm not playing the noise is clear and annoying. All the controls of the amp work properly and all the tubes light up and funtion as they should so it doesn't seem like there's anything actaully wrong with the amp; it's just noisy.

I know with tube 'technology' that I should expect a degree of noisiness due to interference etc, but how much noise is normal? At what point do I take it back to the shop to get it checked? I didn't notice the noise so much in the shop, probably because there were other amps etc being played in the shop and because I was all caught up in the excitement and lovestruck gazing at my new Wildkat [love]. Thoughts? Suggestions? Input?

I'm not the answer guy to resolve your problems amp wise.....Some starter thoughts....The Epi Jr came out first, and had noise problems...

They resolved the issue by changing the transformer type.....The Senior Valves should be O.K....Brian on the Epi Lounge owns one, you might