Gibson Brands Forums

what was the best guitar you ever played?

FenderGuy1

1960 Stratocaster. Couldn't afford to buy it at the time unfortunately (and it was a bargain, under $3000). I did manage to buy a really nice 1962 Stratocaster a couple years later, very nice, arguably the best guitar I ever owned. Wish I still had it.

So AXE great looking guitars but which one is your favorite from your collection?

As for me I've been playing and buying/selling for over 35 years so I have played a hell of a lot of guitars and the hands down winner was my 2002 Peavey Wolfgang hardtail,If I had enough cash I would buy another one in a second.

1065636608043544858S500x500Q85.jpg

As great as it played and felt the top was amazing looking a lot better than the picture shows.

1065636419043544858S500x500Q85.jpg

I would say the first guitar I ever layed my mitts on that made me say "WOW" was a bandmates 1975 ES-335. The guitar practically played itself. After a couple of years of hounding him to sell it to me, he finally did.

2886928044_06c0f4ddae.jpg

That 335 became my "everyday" guitar for the next twenty years. After hundreds of gigs, I literally wore it out.

For what I do now, my L-5CES is absolutely PERFECT. I've spent many hours "tweaking" this guitar (about the only thing left untouched from the Gibson factory is the finish and the frets), it plays like butter, and sounds like silk.

5443050215_b98f88be2c.jpg

So, as to the original question, the best guitar(s) I've ever played, I've been lucky enough to own.

Without hesitation or even a doubt - Parker DF

• light weight but still considerable sustain
  • well balanced - no neck dive
  • contoured and extremely comfortable - no pressure points on my arm
  • hardened stainless steel frets and ebony fretboard make bending strings like a hot knife through warm butter
  • straight string path from nut to bridge, graph-tech nut, and locking tuners make for incredible tuning stability