Gibson Brands Forums

Are musicians masters of time?

Rabs

This is something ive been thinking about a lot. Im helping my brother in law learn the guitar and its been really interesting and has taught me a few things here and there in the process. It also made me remember some of the times when I was learning and what it used to be like trying to play before I was any good at it.

One of the first things I remember was chord changes were so hard. You would struggle to keep time with the beat and make the next chord, often fumbling and missing it and getting frustrated.. Now ive been playing for over 26 years which is since I was 12 and obviously its just part of my life now and I generally dont even think when changing chords..

But what amazes me is sometimes your playing something, and it could even be like 130bpm a good speed, and the time I have now to change chord sometimes seems like an eternity and is what this post is really about.. When we are playing and in the moment where we are at one with the guitar and the music the time between a beat seems to extend..

Now is this just experience and muscle memory? Or is there something else? I mean I have experience in many things but dont often feel that special feeling when time seems to stop when your right there in a tasty solo or just really into what your doing. Whats really amazing is as musicians and guitarists we can experience that almsot whenever we want (even though sometimes mood and life gets in the way)..

I guess this is similar to my "Does playing open your mind" thread. Im not sure ive explained myself very well but does anyone else get what im saying? I wonder if they have ever studied the brain waves of musicians to see what happens when we get into the zone? Im just interested to see if anyone else experiences this and how it feels to them.