Gibson Brands Forums

Retro's lost leg.

retrosurfer1959

You can tell who can handle themselves on here and who can't. Some of you guys are probably scared of your own shadow. Some of you guys are jealous.

Hey Retro, how'd you lose your leg?

This comes up quite a bit in post's and PM's including 3 PM's and the above question this week, but rather that detour the fascinating Hardy Boys and the fascinating Facebook and Free Guitar mystery that were all following with bated breath. I figured I start a different post

I was a young police officer and riding a motorcycle in February of 1986. My partner and I were sitting side by side like cops always do on bikes just stopped at a intersection for a red light, when I heard what was clearly a car impact behind us. I turned around to look and saw a large flatbed truck covered with roofing material and lumber that had just hit a curb and was headed right at me at very high rate speed. One of those weird situations where you know what's gonna happen, and you know it's gonna hurt really bad maybe even kill you but you can't really do anything about it. can really jump off an Harley Davidson Police Electro-glide and sprint clear in the fraction of a second it took to reach me. So he plowed into us still doing 70+ mph. My partner was thrown free into the next lane and lost some skin and cracked a few ribs, but he was able to stand up and even help me, Because unfortunately; I hit the back of the car parked in front of me and was then crushed between the drunks truck and the car in front of me. The truck had enough mass and speed to push the whole accident through the intersection where a few more cars were added to the pile up of mangled metal. Through some miracle I was conscious and able to hold onto the bite wide and bright yellow painted bumper of the truck through the whole thing and when it all stopped moving and it got quiet, I lowered myself slowly to the asphalt thinking I was ok and not seriously hurt since I had li