Gibson Brands Forums

J-50 Production Date Questions

blake geris

Hello!

I am a new, first-time Gibson owner. I've been selling off unused gear for a few months with the intention of purchasing either a vintage SG or a vintage dreadnaught. Lo and behold, an early-70s J-50 appeared on craigslist last week. The price was unbeatable, so I snagged it. The guitar does have a crack in the soundboard that will need repaired, but the neck is straight, the bridge is tight, and the only other issues are cosmetic (finish checking, etc.). There's no shortage of outstanding luthiers in my city, so I will be good to go.

I can't help but be curious exactly how old it is. Unfortunately, it was built during the 1970-1972 range, which seems to be really problematic when trying to nail it down definitively. I thought I would share all the little details in case anyone on here would be able to assemble the clues and help me narrow the window a little bit.

- Square shoulders

- Black teardrop pickguard

- Belly-down, rosewood bridge (no pearloid inlays)

- Regular saddle (not adjustable)

- "Made in USA" stamped into back of headstock

- Serial #6233xx stamped into back of headstock

- Chrome tuners (ovals, not bells)

- No sticker or other inscribing that I can see inside, but I haven't used a mirror or anything as of yet

- Also came with original case, which is a black hard shell with pink plush interior

Do any of these details eliminate or identify a production year?

I very much appreciate whatever help I can get. I've been reading the forums for a few days and I'm sure this place will become a regular time-killer! Thanks :)

post-44669-083403300 1339593540_thumb.jpg

Hi Blake