Gibson Brands Forums

Damaged My LP Custom Already!

ufboy73

well, like an idiot i was screwing around raising the tailpiece, without proper tools (because I am inept when it comes to anything with even a hint of mechanics to it) and ended up stripping/denting one of the large screws.

So, i have got a shiny new looking LP but a screw that has chrome exposed all over the top. I would like to replace this with another gold screw, particularly because I am assuming that since it is new now would be the opportune time to replace so that all the gold still matches before any wear sets in?

I have a couple of questions though that i am hoping you guys could help me with....please bear in mind though the previous statement about my being a complete novice at things like this:

1) can i buy just the screw? I cant seem to find it online - only entire tailpiece sections that would come with the screw i need

2) Is this the part that I would need for a LP custom? http://www.guitarcenter.com/Gibson-Tailpiece-Stop-Bar-306101-i1128029.gc

3) How do you guys make adjustments via the screws without damaging them? the metal seemed really soft. Either i need a screwdriver that had a width to cover the whole screw (and applies equal pressure across the whole screw) or maybe wrap the screwdriver in some sort of 'padding' (i.e. rag) or something?

4) Assuming i get the screw/part i need, how hard is the replacement going to be? Take the strings off, unscrew the existing tailpiece, put the new one (or replace the screw with the old one) but how do i get it to the exact height that it is at now? Should I just take it somewhere and let a pro do it?

Any input would be great on this. It obviously doesnt affect playability but it hurts every time i see one shiny gold screw and the other that has almost completely flaked off.

thanks