Gibson Brands Forums

How do I find a teacher?

Hey,

I've just bought myself a guitar the other day and I'm looking for a teacher. Trouble is, I don't really know how to go about finding a good one. Should I be looking for any particular accredited boards? What would be a reasonable rate? I'm a student, so I don't have bags of money, but I'd rather have half as many lessons with a better teacher if that made the difference...

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Thats always been a tough one for me to the point where I have given up and try to teach myself with information that I find online. There are some great lessons right on the Gibson site and some good stuff on youtube. Also http://www.justinguitar.com/ has been helpfull to me. I have felt that allot of teachers have really strung me along. I advance a bit at the beginning and then the progress crawls.

I had one good guitar teacher who moved on to bigger getter things shortly after I started with him.

• Like 1

Damn, that's what I was worried about. I grew up playing classical piano so I'm used to a very formal setting for learning, plus I'm not terribly confident, so I definitely get panicked at the thought of teaching myself any instrument! Thanks for the link, I'll definitely check it out.

I feel that if I'm going to teach myself I'll at least need a structured course. I've heard great things about Metal Method, it looks really good and it's affordable, but like basically every course I've seen it's really geared towards hard rock. That's cool and I do listen to it and want to learn how to play it, but my main influences come from 60s classic rock and late 80s/early 90s rock. It would be really nice to learn with a focus on my favourite kind of music...

Hi R-b and welcome to the forums...

With a background in classical piano certain things like reading should be a doddle

A very good basic reading/counting etc book is 'Alfred's Basic Guitar Method'...not so rock orientated...