Gibson Brands Forums

Traded My New Les Paul For a New Strat

Macmutt

Now before you guy's jump all over me, give me a chance to explain.

Well i've been playing guitar for nearly 25 years, and ever since i first learned about all the different types of guitars from my older brother, who's been playing nearly 40 years, i fell in love with 2 types of guitars the Fender Strat and the Gibson Les Paul.

Truth be told i loved the Les Paul a little more, well i was one of those many guy's who went to the music stores and tried his dream guitars like strats and les pauls for years, and last year i finally got the money together to buy my dream Les Paul.

However, as most of you know the Les Paul's of today are not the ones from 30 years ago, Gibson has cut too many corners with the materials and construction of the newest Les Pauls, today they are no longer solid bodies, they have holes and chambers drilled and routered in the bodies for weight relief, the necks no longer have triple ply binding, and in my particular model the fretboard was baked maple not rosewood, even the jack plate was plastic instead of metal, the string nuts are no longer bone, there plastic, the pick up chambers are no longer copper shielded.

Now i knew about all these little imperfections that bothered me before i bought the guitar, but i had no choice, i wanted a brand new Gibson that no one has ever played but me and i thought i could live with these imperfections....i was wrong, even though the guitar felt and sounded good, it didn't feel and sound like the one's i played in the music stores all those years ago, and after a few months, i decided not to settle and i chose to swap it for a new Fender American Standard Strat, one of the few guitars unchanged in materials and construction ever since it's inception back in the 50's.