Gibson Brands Forums

Korean Les Paul custom (2001)

Doc  T

I just picked up a used Les Paul Custom (MIK 2001) yesterday. I have no experience at all with Epi Les Paul's (I have owned a Dot Deluxe and a Broadway), and I have a couple of questions for the experts. The nut, neck, frets, and tuners are really high quality--among the best I have seen at this price range. The bridge, however, is a total disaster. No matter how you move the saddles, you can't get get proper intonation on the top E and the B string (the E is pretty much dead, and even inaudible beyond the 12th fret). I obviously want to replace the bridge ASAP! Does anyone have any good suggestions for this particular model? I want something that I can simply "drop in" as a replacement. I am assuming the tail piece will be ok to keep.

Second issue--the pickups on this guitar are pretty muddy. I played a bit with the pole pieces and got more life out of them, but I would eventually like to replace them with something brighter (even though this guitar will be used mostly for blues with cleaner tones). I just put D'Addario 10's on it, but might go up to 11's.

I have attached a pic. And I have gotten good advice on this board before, so thanks for reading and responding!

post-30255-036521800 1341749605_thumb.jpg

Pickup upgrades; Used Gibby 57s and 57+ are around 50-60 each used........Check all of the Guitar Forums...

New; Check out "Fuelie", "Sheptones", "Re-Wind"..........

+1 to the classic 57/57+ recommendation; I had that in my LP Custom 1999 and it sounded great.

Regarding bridge I am not sure why moving the saddles on your bridge is not able to give you proper intonation; is the neck straight all the way? is the nut really OK like the grooves not being too deep?

For a replacement bridge, that could be a cheap experiment to see if the bridge is really your problem.