Gibson Brands Forums

Any Lefty around ?

palmazou

• 2 weeks later...

I'm a lefty but back in the 60's when I started to learn guitar, I started playing right handed cause the lefties were just not to be found. It looks like things haven't improved over the years.

• 2 weeks later...

apologies for coming in late on the topic

im a lefty player, only like gibsons too

I have an SG, 335 and a Les Paul

all custom wiring pickups tuners to my preference

what you want to talk about?

Gibson Keep the lefties coming!!! dont stop!!!!

• 1 month later...

I'm also a lefty playing right handed. As far as I'm concerned, guitar isn't quite a "handed" instrument, since both hands are completely involved. What I have noticed is that the general approach seems to vary. I play hundreds and hundreds of different chords and voicings, and just use my picking hand to kind of vibrate the strings. Not much single-note picking so much as lots of hammer-ons and pull-offs. Sometimes fairly long periods when I don't use my right hand at all.

Conversely, if the dominant hand is used to do the picking and the weak hand to do the chording, I see really fancy crosspicking and complex fingerstyle work over fewer and simpler chords. I notice keyboard improvisers do something analogous, one hand comping while the other leads. So I guess it's a matter of what orientation you have, what you want to sound like, what feels more comfortable to you. And of course, there are a LOT more right-handed guitars to choose from anywhere, not to mention right-handed instructors. Gradually over the years my flat picking improves in speed, accuracy, and complexity. Still can't fingerpick worth squat.