Gibson Brands Forums

Hello and help me identify this J200

MrElliot

Hello all

My first post here. Seems like a good forum :)

I am trying to identify the specific model of a SJ 200 I picked up.

I got it from a buddy who seemed to think it was a gold montana. I am sure it isn't. He is not a guitar head as such, he is a working full time musician who sees guitars as tools.

Anyway, I have trolled the internet looking at pics but I can't nail down which one this is....standard, vintage....not sure. I am new to Gibson acoustics so it is all a mystery to me.

It also has an LR Baggs Pickup in it.

If anyone can help me out I would appreciate it.

Here are some pics:

IMG_0384.jpg

IMG_0385.jpg

IMG_0386.jpg

IMG_0387.jpg

IMG_0388.jpg

IMG_0383.jpg

IMG_0382.jpg

I am trying to identify the specific model of a SJ 200 I picked up.

It's what is now called an SJ-200 Standard, but it was called a J-200 Modern Classic at the time it was built.

-- Bob R

Thanks Bob.

Is the LR Baggs pickup a standard thing or was it some sort of option?

Were these guitars highly regarded?

I really like it. I have a Martin that I kinda don't like anymore.....the J200 is a lot nicer to play and sounds a lot better IMO.

As you probably know it has maple back'n'sides and a spruce top. A good combo – spruce being the most common top wood and maple known for its bright yet soft, some would say creamy voice.

The tuners show us it's a Standard, , , otherwise they would have been f.x. tulips, which many regard as the 'right' mechanics for this model. Don't think too much about that - those Grovers are fine, , , , for a beginner hehe he. . .