Gibson Brands Forums

How to Weld Using Guitar Strings

badbluesplayer

Looks like you got insuficient penetration for a good joint. Serves you right for trying to weld dissimilar materials with very different specific heat characteristics. Brazing would have been better.

but WHY???????

I did it by accident when I was changing the strings. There were a lot of sparks and a little tingling. Somehow I managed to unplug everything without getting zapped too bad.

Both the iphone charger and the active electronics in the guitar still seem to work fine.

I'm a pipe welder.

Nuclear - Petro Chemical - Pharmaceutical - Fossil - Semi Conductor.

Oh, and the occasional paper mill.

I too, have done my share of welding on several job sites. I always despised paper mills and coal -fired powerhouses, although I made lots of money on shut downs and outtages. I tried to gravitate more towards the orbital end as my eyes got worse. Eventually, I moved into HVAC and refrigeration service work. I will only weld now if I have to. [blink]

This is my preferred method of welding. Been running the GTAW remote video heads since 85.

orbital.jpg

That's cool. I took a beginner welding class and the first thing the guy said was that you'll never be any good until you spend a whole lot of time doing it.

I'm a pipe welder.

Nuclear - Petro Chemical - Pharmaceutical - Fossil - Semi Conductor.

Oh, and the occasional paper mill.

Reminds me of my old man. He was a plumber/welder for years. He worked on upgrades to the Harbor Beach, MI power plant and helped build the Belle River power plant in Michigan. By the nineties he was a line splicer, working for Detroit Edison. Not sure why he ditched welding. Maybe work dried up around that time? Now I hear there is a shortage of welders (as well as some other trades).

This is my preferred method of welding. Been running the GTAW remote video heads since 85.

orbital.jpg