Gibson Brands Forums

Whats your best bending finger

Rabs

So I think ive just come to the conclusion that nearly all of my favorite guitarists more often than not are pulling off the really nice bends with their third finger.. Now since ive been playing quite alot recently ive noticed that I mainly bend with my second and first fingers...

I managed to pull a few bends off by accident today with my third finger and it fealt really good lol (sounded really good)

So now I think im gonna practice with that third finger.. I have no issues using it playing chords or scales or anthing like that.. I think I just happened to get into the habbit of second finger bending when I started learning as it was easier for me at that time and never thought about it much until now lol..

So what fingers do you use for bending? Will it help me to concentrate on that a bit? I mean that in using that finger for bends it leaves my first two to do any othe pull offs or following notes downwards rather than having to slide down (if you see what im saying?).

Also I find that I only really vibrato properly on my first finger too.. So I want to look into that aswell. :)

Use whatever's clever. The trick is to use more than one finger. Like if you're bending with your ring finger put your middle and index fingers behind it also.

[thumbup]

Well thats the thing.. When I did it by accident earlier I put my other two fingers behind it and all of a sudden the bend was easier DUHHHHH!!

Now I just need to get into the habbit of it a bit more :)

I'll use my third with first and second backing it up. That's for all my full step and higher bends, and occasionally half step bends. But for half step or microtonal bends, I'll use individual fingers, whichever one is in the best position.

There's a blind guy that plays at my local watering hole every couple months. He's one of the best guitar players that go through that place an he uses his middle finger all the time.